Kiwigrid

The connection of cloud, energy and e-mobility

8The Dresden-based Kiwigrid GmbH stands for a sustainable energy world – a world in which the energy ecosystem is in balance with nature and society. Kiwigrid develops an open platform for the future of energy that helps customers increase their energy efficiency, optimize the use of renewable energy, pave the way for electric vehicles and stabilize power grids.

Challenge
Kiwigrid’s two core products “The Independent Home” and “The Electrifying City” are based on the so-called Energy Manager. The Energy Manager is a box that links generators and consumers in the home with the aim of achieving self-sufficiency in the areas of electricity, heat and mobility. More precisely, the Energy Manager pursues the goal of optimizing the load in order to use the electricity that is generated decentrally on site as much as possible.

Solution
SOTEC supports Kiwigrid in the further development of the current version of the Energy Manager and its portal on all levels, from the device to the cloud. On the cloud side, Kiwigrid relies fully on Google, using Kubernetes Engine, Cloud Storage and CloudSQL, among others. On the device side, SOTEC supports, among other things, the connection of additional devices to the Energy Manager, such as heat pumps or wallboxes, as well as the control of energy flows for the various optimization scenarios. The new version of the Energy Manager is also intended to drive optimization with regard to financial aspects from the customer’s point of view, so that external electricity is primarily used when it is available at a favorable price.

Result
Since the beginning of the collaboration in August 2020, a trusting partnership has developed between Kiwigrid and SOTEC, so that an open exchange of ideas and technologies takes place even beyond the current day-to-day business. Because even though the business areas are different, there is a great deal of overlap in the technologies applied. For this reason, we are already planning further joint projects.

Project start

2020

Customer portrait

Kiwigrid offers cross-industry value creation and sees itself as an open platform for the future of energy and e-mobility.

Technologies

Cloud ComputingIoTKubernetes
Shape the future with our technology know-how.
  • Product
  • Service
  • Process
  • Your Idea

Kiwigrid

Die Verbindung von Cloud, Energie und E-Mobilität

Die Dresdner Kiwigrid GmbH steht für eine nachhaltige Energiewelt – einer Welt, in der das Energie-Ökosystem im Gleichgewicht mit Natur und Gesellschaft steht. Kiwigrid entwickelt eine offene Plattform für die Zukunft der Energie, die Kunden dabei hilft ihre Energieeffizienz zu steigern, die Nutzung erneuerbarer Energien zu optimieren, den Weg für Elektrofahrzeuge zu ebnen und Stromnetze zu stabilisieren.

Challenge
Die beiden Kernprodukte von Kiwigrid “The Independent Home” und “The Electrifying City” basieren auf dem sogenannten Energy Manager. Der Energy Manager ist eine Box die Erzeuger und Verbraucher im Haushalt verknüpft, mit dem Ziel Autarkie in den Bereichen Strom, Wärme und Mobilität zu erreichen. Genauer gesagt verfolgt der Energy Manager das Ziel durch Lastoptimierung den Strom, der vor Ort dezentral erzeugt wird, möglichst auch dort zu nutzen.

Lösung
SOTEC unterstützt Kiwigrid bei der Weiterentwicklung der aktuellen Version des Energy Managers und dessen Portals auf allen Ebenen, vom Gerät bis zur Cloud. Cloudseitig setzt Kiwigrid dabei voll auf Google, unter anderem werden Kubernetes Engine, Cloud Storage und CloudSQL genutzt. Auf Geräteseite unterstützt SOTEC unter anderem bei der Anbindung weiterer Geräte an den Energy Manager, wie z.B. Wärmepumpen oder Wallboxen sowie bei der Regelung der Energieflüsse für die verschiedenen Optimierungsszenarien. Die neue Version des Energy Managers soll die Optimierung auch bezüglich finanzieller Aspekte aus Kundensicht vorantreiben, so dass externer Strom vor allem dann genutzt wird, wenn er zu einem günstigen Preis verfügbar ist.

Ergebnis
Seit Beginn der Zusammenarbeit im August 2020 hat sich eine vertrauensvolle Partnerschaft zwischen Kiwigrid und SOTEC entwickelt, so dass auch über das aktuelle Tagesgeschäft hinaus ein offener Austausch über Ideen und Technologien stattfindet. Denn auch wenn die Geschäftsfelder unterschiedlich sind, gibt es in den angewendeten Technologien große Überschneidungen. Aus diesem Grund planen wir aktuell schon weitere gemeinsame Projekte.

Projektbeginn

2020

Kundenportrait

Kiwigrid bietet branchenübergreifende Wertschöpfung und versteht sich als eine offene Plattform für die Zukunft von Energie und E-Mobilität.

Technologien

Cloud ComutingIoTKubernetes
Gestalten Sie die Zukunft mit unserem Technologie Know-How.
  • Produkt
  • Service
  • Prozess
  • Ihre Idee