Drive-Thru Timing System

SOTEC distributed the Edge Gateway device, the CloudPlug, and implemented the Drive-thru timing system for McDonald’s UK that collects real-time data from all Drive-thru restaurants to create real-time and historic reporting data.

The challenge

To keep customer satisfaction high, the speed of service is a key figure. To get a full picture of the speed of service, correct and comparable data is required. Reviewing all timing sections and potential bottlenecks within the Drive-thru lane is key. By creating comparability between the restaurants, the crews can be encouraged to improve customer service and thus increase customer satisfaction.

The solution

The SOTEC CloudPlug IoT Gateway is installed in the restaurant and sends data from sensors in the drive lane and the POS system in real-time to an AppEngine app. The data is aggregated and stored in BigQuery – all secured by McDonald’s Global Authentication Service (GAS) which is also integrated. The restaurant can see its own performance report and how it performs in relation to other sites.

The results

Over 800 restaurants are currently participating in DTS and in the meantime, the solution is being deployed to restaurants in Ireland too. The solution has reduced the waiting time in the Drive-Thru lane and improved the overall customer satisfaction rate for restaurants since the dashboard was enabled.

This is what the customer says:

When we started the "Drive-Thru Timing System" project with SOTEC in 2015, our goal was to get live insight into the health of your market-wide drive operations, to see car movements and sales immediately. Now we are very pleased to continue to expand this system together with SOTEC as our chosen Software as a Service Partner.

McDonalds UK

Project start

2015

Customer portrait

McDonald's is the world's largest chain of quick-service restaurants, serving tens of millions of customers daily worldwide. McDonald’s in the UK and Ireland is operating over 1200 restaurants with over 800 having a drive lane.

Technologies

AppEngineBigQueryGoogle Cloud Platform
The content is missing here. Try again later.
Shape the future with our technology know-how.
  • Product
  • Service
  • Process
  • Your Idea

Drive-Thru Timing System

SOTEC vertrieb das Edge Gateway Gerät, den CloudPlug, und implementierte das Drive-Thru-Timing-System für McDonald’s UK, das Echtzeit-Daten von allen Drive-Thru-Restaurants sammelt, um Echtzeit- und historischen Berichtsdaten.

Die Herausforderung

Um die Kundenzufriedenheit auf einem hohen Niveau zu halten, ist die Schnelligkeit der Dienstleistung eine wichtige Kennzahl. Um ein vollständiges Bild von der Geschwindigkeit der Bedienung zu erhalten, sind korrekte und vergleichbare Daten erforderlich. Die Überprüfung aller Zeitabschnitte und potenzieller Engpässe innerhalb der Drive-Thru-Spur ist entscheidend. Durch die Schaffung von Vergleichbarkeit zwischen den Restaurants kann das Personal dazu angehalten werden, den Kundenservice zu verbessern und damit die Kundenzufriedenheit zu erhöhen.

Die Lösung

Das SOTEC CloudPlug IoT Gateway wird im Restaurant installiert und sendet Daten von Sensoren in der Fahrspur und dem Kassensystem in Echtzeit an eine AppEngine-App. Die Daten werden aggregiert und in BigQuery gespeichert, alles gesichert durch McDonald’s Global Authentication Service (GAS), der ebenfalls integriert ist. Das Restaurant kann seinen eigenen Leistungsbericht einsehen und sehen, wie es im Vergleich zu anderen Standorten abschneidet.

Das Ergebnis

Über 800 Restaurants nehmen derzeit an DTS teil, und inzwischen wird die Lösung auch in Restaurants in Irland eingesetzt. Die Lösung hat die Wartezeit in der Drive-Thru-Spur verkürzt und die allgemeine Kundenzufriedenheit der Restaurants verbessert, seit das Dashboard aktiviert wurde.

Das sagt der Kunde:

Als wir 2015 das Projekt "Drive-Thru Timing System" mit SOTEC starteten, war unser Ziel, einen Live-Einblick in den Zustand des marktweiten Fahrbetriebs zu erhalten, um Fahrzeugbewegungen und Verkäufe sofort zu sehen. Jetzt freuen wir uns sehr, dieses System gemeinsam mit SOTEC als unserem gewählten Software-as-a-Service-Partner weiter auszubauen.

McDonalds UK

Projektbeginn

2015

Kundenportrait

McDonald's ist die weltgrößte Kette von Schnellrestaurants, die täglich weltweit mehrere zehn Millionen Kunden bedient. Im Vereinigten Königreich und in Irland betreibt McDonald's über 1200 Restaurants, von denen mehr als 800 über eine Drive Lane verfügen.

Technologien

AppEngineBigQueryGoogle Cloud Platform
Hier fehlt der Inhalt. Versuchen Sie es später nocheinmal.
Gestalten Sie die Zukunft mit unserem Technologie Know-How.
  • Produkt
  • Service
  • Prozess
  • Ihre Idee